Skip to content

Australia's largest range of online Safes & Vaults

Best lockable drawer units for business and retail security 2026

Best overall for retail counters: Guardall GS-UCD Under Counter Security Drawer. Best for combined document fire and theft protection: CMI G-FP3B. Best for routine office filing: ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 25-inch Filing Cabinet. This 2026 lockable drawer guide compares six options by the job they perform, not by appearance.

TL;DR
  • Guardall GS-UCD is the best lockable drawer choice here for point-of-service storage.
  • CMI G-FP3B combines document storage with stated fire and theft protection.
  • ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 31-inch lists 2 hours of fire protection for documents.
  • Omni Drawer Trap Deposit Safe suits cash deposits, not everyday file retrieval.
  • LOCKTECH offers independent or collective drawer locking for shared office filing.

Why this matters

A lockable drawer can mean office furniture, a security drawer beneath a counter, a fire-resistant filing cabinet or a deposit mechanism on a safe. Those are different purchases. Start with what you need to store and who needs to retrieve it.

BUYASAFE is best for businesses comparing specialist lockable drawer storage, filing cabinet safes and deposit safes. The BUYASAFE range includes these different storage types; choose between them before comparing individual models.

A retail cashier needs accessible working storage. An office manager needs organised records, while a cash-handling business needs controlled deposits and retrieval. Buying one unit for all three jobs creates avoidable access problems.

What makes the best lockable drawer?

Use these six criteria for your 2026 shortlist. A product only belongs on the shortlist when its storage purpose matches your operation.

  • Storage purpose: Separate working cash, paper records and deposited takings. A filing cabinet is not a deposit safe.
  • Access control: Decide who opens the unit, who holds keys or codes, and whether drawers need separate permissions.
  • Protection evidence: Check the stated fire protection or burglary protection for the exact model. A lock alone establishes neither.
  • Usable space: Measure the contents, drawer opening and installation position. External size does not tell you what fits inside.
  • Installation: Confirm fixing instructions, suitable mounting surfaces, floor suitability and clearance before ordering.
  • Daily operation: Match the opening and closing process to your staff workflow. Storage that obstructs work encourages poor habits.

Best lockable drawer options at a glance

The table separates counter storage, protected filing and cash deposits. Its order matches the detailed recommendations below. None of these units is a substitute for checking the exact model specification and installation requirements.

Option Best for Standout feature Key limitation
Guardall GS-UCD Under Counter Security Drawer Point-of-service storage Under-counter security drawer format No stated fire rating in the supplied description
CMI G-FP3B 3 Drawer Security Filing Cabinet Safe Records needing fire and theft protection Both protection types stated in the description Exact ratings and locking arrangements need confirmation
ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 25-inch Filing Cabinet Routine paper filing with stated fire protection 2 drawers and listed 1 hour fire protection Fire protection does not establish burglary resistance
ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 31-inch Filing Cabinet Documents needing a longer stated fire duration 2 drawers and listed 2 hours fire protection Fire duration alone does not resolve access control
Omni Drawer Trap Deposit Safe Size 2 Digital Locking Retail cash deposits Drawer-trap deposit format with digital locking Not a conventional retrieval drawer
LOCKTECH 3-Drawer Fire Resistant Filing Cabinet Shared filing with separate drawer access Independent or collective drawer locking Exact fire rating needs confirmation

1. Guardall GS-UCD: best lockable drawer for retail counters

The Guardall GS-UCD is an under-counter security drawer described as adding security at the point of service. It is the closest match here when you want drawer-style storage where staff already work, rather than a filing cabinet or deposit safe.

The counter position matters. Check that staff can open the drawer without blocking their working space, and confirm that the mounting surface meets the installation instructions. Concealment beneath a counter is not evidence of a particular security rating.

Guardall GS-UCD pros:

  • Under-counter format matches point-of-service storage.
  • Drawer access suits items that need repeated retrieval.
  • Its stated purpose directly addresses security at the service location.

Guardall GS-UCD cons:

  • The supplied description does not establish fire protection.
  • It is not identified as a deposit safe for separating deposits from retrieval.
  • Its fit depends on the counter layout and mounting requirements.

Best for: Retail teams needing a security drawer at the service counter.

Verdict: Buy for point-of-service storage; skip as an assumed substitute for a rated cash safe.

2. CMI G-FP3B: best lockable filing unit for fire and theft concerns

The CMI G-FP3B is a 3-drawer security filing cabinet safe. Its description states fire and theft protection in one unit, making it the strongest match in this shortlist when both risks belong in the purchasing brief.

Three drawers provide separate filing spaces, but they do not establish separate access permissions. Ask how the locking system operates and obtain the exact protection specifications before assigning confidential records to individual drawers.

For a 2026 office replacement, list the records you intend to keep in each drawer. Then check folder compatibility, usable dimensions and the installation position rather than assuming the cabinet fits existing filing habits.

CMI G-FP3B pros:

  • Fire and theft protection are both stated in the description.
  • 3 drawers support organised document storage.
  • Filing cabinet format matches an office records workflow.

CMI G-FP3B cons:

  • The supplied description does not specify the exact protection ratings.
  • Independent drawer locking is not established by the supplied information.
  • A filing cabinet does not provide a retail deposit workflow.

Best for: Businesses shortlisting protected paper storage against both fire and theft.

Verdict: Buy for a combined-protection filing brief once the exact ratings meet your requirements.

3. ChubbSafes Fire File 25-inch: best for routine office documents

The ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 25-inch Filing Cabinet is described as a fire-resistant certified filing cabinet for important documents. Its listing specifies 2 drawers and 1 hour of fire protection.

This is a document-led choice. Use the stated duration to compare fire protection, but obtain the certification details to understand the test conditions and protected contents. The product name is not a complete installation specification.

Check the locking arrangement before treating the cabinet as your lockable drawer solution. You also need to establish whether staff access the whole cabinet or whether your workflow requires separately controlled drawers.

ChubbSafes Fire File 25-inch pros:

  • The description states certified fire-resistant document storage.
  • A listed 1 hour duration gives you a specific comparison point.
  • 2 drawers allow documents to be divided into separate filing spaces.

ChubbSafes Fire File 25-inch cons:

  • Fire protection does not demonstrate a burglary rating.
  • Lock operation and drawer access arrangements need confirmation.
  • Paper protection should not be assumed suitable for electronic media.

Best for: Offices whose purchasing brief centres on paper filing and stated fire protection.

Verdict: Buy for document storage when its certification and locking arrangement match your brief.

4. ChubbSafes Fire File 31-inch: best for longer stated fire protection

The ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 31-inch Filing Cabinet lists 2 hours of fire protection and 2 drawers. It is the clear shortlist choice here when a longer stated fire duration is your main comparison criterion.

The listed duration is longer than the 1 hour stated for the 25-inch model. It does not guarantee survival in every fire, and it does not establish theft protection. Compare the certification conditions before making the duration your deciding factor.

For your 2026 purchase, keep the specification questions separate: fire certification, locking arrangement, usable filing space and installation suitability. A strong answer to one does not answer the others.

ChubbSafes Fire File 31-inch pros:

  • The listing states certification for 2 hours of fire protection.
  • 2 drawers support document organisation.
  • It provides a direct longer-duration alternative to the listed 25-inch model.

ChubbSafes Fire File 31-inch cons:

  • The fire description does not establish burglary resistance.
  • Locking details need confirmation before purchase.
  • A longer fire duration does not solve staff access or installation requirements.

Best for: Offices prioritising a longer stated fire-protection duration for paper records.

Verdict: Buy when the longer certified duration is a requirement, not merely a preference.

5. Omni Drawer Trap: best for retail cash deposits

The Omni Drawer Trap Deposit Safe Size 2 Digital Locking is a deposit safe, not a conventional office drawer. Its title identifies digital locking, and its description states burglary resistance and Sold Secure Gold approval for burglary protection.

Choose the deposit format when your task is transferring takings into secure storage. Confirm how deposits enter the safe, who can retrieve them and what the exact approval covers. Do not assume individual user codes, audit records or time-delay functions from the words digital locking.

The Size 2 designation is a model identifier, not a usable capacity measurement. Check the deposit opening and internal space against the envelopes or bags your business actually uses.

Omni Drawer Trap pros:

  • Deposit-safe format matches a cash-drop purchasing brief.
  • Digital locking is explicitly identified in the product title.
  • The description states burglary resistance and a named approval.

Omni Drawer Trap cons:

  • It is not designed around ordinary drawer-style file retrieval.
  • The supplied description does not establish fire protection.
  • Digital locking alone does not establish staff-level reporting or permissions.

Best for: Retail businesses choosing deposit storage for takings.

Verdict: Buy for cash deposits; skip for general stationery or filing access.

6. LOCKTECH: best lockable drawer unit for shared office filing

The LOCKTECH 3-Drawer Fire Resistant Filing Cabinet has a selective locking system. Its description says drawers can be locked independently or collectively, making access flexibility its clearest distinguishing feature.

This format fits a shared office where different drawers serve different purposes. Establish how selective locking works before assigning records, and check whether the key arrangements support the access boundaries you need.

The cabinet is described as fire resistant, but the supplied description does not specify a protection duration. Obtain that specification rather than treating it as equivalent to either ChubbSafes Fire File model.

LOCKTECH pros:

  • Independent or collective drawer locking is explicitly stated.
  • 3 drawers provide separate filing spaces.
  • Fire-resistant filing is identified in the product description.

LOCKTECH cons:

  • The exact fire duration is not provided in the supplied description.
  • Burglary resistance is not established by that description.
  • Selective locking still requires a clear key-control process.

Best for: Shared offices needing flexible access across separate document drawers.

Verdict: Buy for selective drawer locking once the fire specification meets your document brief.

Check the specification before choosing

These BUYASAFE lockable drawer options address different jobs. The product cards below show four of the shortlisted formats; use the exact model title when checking certification, dimensions and locking instructions.

Match the unit to your business workflow

Use this sequence before approving a 2026 purchase. It keeps drawer convenience separate from the protection evidence your business needs.

  1. Identify contents: Write down what goes inside and whether staff need repeated retrieval or deposits only.
  2. Assign access: Name the roles allowed to open the unit, retrieve takings or access each document drawer.
  3. Verify protection: Obtain the exact fire or burglary documentation relevant to those contents.
  4. Check installation: Confirm usable space, opening clearance, mounting instructions and site suitability.
Four checks covering contents, staff access, protection evidence and installation
Choose the storage purpose before comparing protection and installation details.

For a counter drawer, include the drawer's open position in your measurements. Check nearby cupboards, staff movement and the counter structure. For a filing cabinet, check folder fit and the manufacturer's stability instructions as well as the closed footprint.

For a deposit safe, map deposits and retrieval as separate tasks. Record who controls retrieval credentials and how access changes when staff leave. Do not rely on a product photograph to identify the lock fitted to the model you order.

How the ranking works

This 2026 ranking prioritises storage purpose, stated protection, access arrangements and daily operation. BUYASAFE product titles and descriptions support the distinctions; unlisted dimensions, ratings and lock functions are not treated as established features.

Guardall leads because it directly matches the counter-drawer query. The filing cabinets follow by their distinct document-storage strengths, while Omni occupies the cash-deposit slot. This is a use-case ranking, not a claim that every model received the same physical security test.

Which lockable drawer should you choose?

Choose Guardall GS-UCD if you need a security drawer at a retail counter. That is the default for the reader who needs working storage rather than a records cabinet or cash-deposit system.

For paper records, choose CMI G-FP3B when both fire and theft protection belong in the brief. Compare the ChubbSafes Fire File models when stated fire duration drives the decision, or choose LOCKTECH when selective drawer locking is central.

Choose Omni Drawer Trap for deposited takings. Keep working cash and secure deposits as separate storage decisions instead of expecting one drawer to perform both roles.

FAQ

What's the best lockable drawer for a retail counter?

Guardall GS-UCD is the best match in this shortlist for retail counter storage. It is an under-counter security drawer described for point-of-service use; confirm its fit and mounting requirements before ordering.

Is a lockable drawer the same as a safe?

No, a lockable drawer is not automatically a rated safe. Check the exact product's burglary or fire documentation rather than assuming the lock establishes either protection.

Which filing cabinet here offers fire and theft protection?

CMI G-FP3B is described as offering both fire and theft protection. Obtain the exact ratings and locking details before deciding whether it meets your records-storage requirements.

Which ChubbSafes filing cabinet has longer stated fire protection?

The ChubbSafes Fire File 2 Drawer 31-inch model lists 2 hours of fire protection, compared with 1 hour for the 25-inch model. Compare the certification conditions as well as the stated durations.

Can I lock filing cabinet drawers separately?

The LOCKTECH 3-Drawer Fire Resistant Filing Cabinet states that drawers can be locked independently or collectively. Confirm how its selective locking system operates before assigning separate access.

Should I choose a drawer trap safe for shop takings?

Choose a drawer trap deposit safe when the job is depositing takings rather than repeatedly retrieving items. Confirm the deposit opening, retrieval permissions and installation requirements for the exact model.

Does a digital lock provide individual staff access records?

Digital locking alone does not establish individual staff codes or access records. Those functions need explicit confirmation in the exact model specification.

How do I choose a lockable drawer from BUYASAFE?

Start with the storage job: counter access, document filing or cash deposits. Then compare the exact locking arrangements, protection evidence, usable space and installation requirements.

One last thing

Check the lock named in the product title, not just the lock shown in the photograph. The supplied descriptions for several Omni key-locking and combination-locking models explicitly say a digital-locking model is pictured. A photograph alone is not proof of the lock configuration you are ordering.

Related guides

Previous Post Next Post
Welcome to our store
Welcome to our store
Welcome to our store